Don’t (just) use each other as an escape

beach walkOne of the biggest mistakes I made when I was young was to use my sweetheart as an escape. I do not particularly enjoy dealing with the fine points of organization, bills, paperwork, etc. I would much prefer to be discussing ideas; spending quality time with people; laughing with the person I care about; listening to music; spending time outdoors.

I group these finer detail points as “talking business” and, although logically it makes sense that they would come up once in a while, I bored easily of them, got irritated when they were brought up on a regular basis, and never really cared to deal with them. I mean, in a relationship, you should be having fun and enjoying each other, right?

Wrong: well, partially incorrect. Relationships are fun, but not only fun. In Genesis 2:18, when God created woman do you know what he called her? Adam’s “help meet” says the King James Version. I sometimes look at several versions just so that I can understand exactly what is meant. This verse stays pretty standard between them. Here are a few:

Genesis 2:18

18 And the Lord God said, It is not good that the man should be alone; I will make him an help meet for him. (KJV)

18 The Lord God said, “It is not good for the man to be alone. I will make a helper suitable for him.” (NIV)

18 Then the Lord God said, “It is not good that the man should be alone; I will make him a helper fit for[a] him.” (ESV)

18 Then the Lord God said, “It is not good for the man to be alone. I will make a helper who is just right for him.” (NLT)

No matter how it is said, the message is the same. Woman was created to be a helpmate for Adam.

It is a blessing to have someone by your side sharing the journey with you, so why not share the whole journey; not only the fun bits? Tackle problems together: You have different perspectives, different ideas, and you can learn to enjoy even the not so fun moments together. Spend time together doing more than just ‘escape’ type things. Build a firm foundation on God and the important things in life. If you leave out the important pieces, you will be building a paper castle, and, when the winds shift and difficulties come, it is likely to be blown over.

Leave a Reply

