Columbine Changed My Life

On the way to work today, I was listening to one of the first CDs I ever purchased for myself (yes, I still do the CD thing); Michael W. Smith This is Your Time CD.  The title track is written in tribute of Cassie Barnall; one of the many young people who lost their life that day. Cassie was a Christian, and she was around my age. I identified with her and realized how short life can be. in 1998, I purposed myself to live just as this song says: live every moment, leave nothing to chance, swim in the sea, drink of the deep, embrace the mystery of all you can be.

This song, and the story behind it, better than any outside-of-church influence I know of, influenced my teen years and beyond. The thought of living each day to the fullest inspired me, and never being ashamed of God. For those who are unfamiliar, Cassie reportedly was asked if she believed in God, and, after answering yes, was shot. There are now people who report that this was not the case, but that she was shot while prayed. In either circumstance, I grew up believing that it was true, and either would have been an inspiration to me.

6 thoughts on “Columbine Changed My Life

  1. It proves Romans 8:28. Carrie’s legacy lives on. But as a mom of an only child, while I am a child of God, I can’t imagine life after a senseless murder. And yet more and more precious children are gunned down. My prayer tonight has been asking God how can we stop this evil?
    I’m glad I found your blog. It’s encouraging!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I was in college at the University of Wyoming, just 100 miles up the road from Columbine. It hit so close to home, geographically and emotionally. I remember watching the footage on my tiny little 13″ tv, wondering how in the world someone could do that to their classmates. And here we are again, hearing about students in Oregon killed because they proclaimed their beliefs in Christ. It makes my heart hurt.

    “Forgive so that I can live in freedom.” If only more would do that…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s a terrible thing! I can’t imagine being so close to it. Maybe it is just the expansion of news media, but mass shootings seem to be so muck more commonplace today. As a society I feel we are becoming numb. I wish it was not the case. Each life taken is an individual with a story, but with the multitude of losses, it can be difficult for our hearts to process the magnitude of that so they begin to become numbers on our tv screen, on our news pages. I pray for their families for forgiveness and closure.

      Like

Leave a Reply

