Ever Changing Home

Have you lived in multiple places throughout your life, or did you grow up and build your life in the same place?

I was born in California, Spent 10 years of my developing life in Idaho, and have lived in North Carolina for four and a half years.

meOne thing that happens when you move around is your heart never seems to be fully in one place. I miss the smell of the air in California, and the friends and family that I grew up around. I miss the big sky country and mountains and large game roaming the plains in Idaho. I love the trees out here and the easy access to both ocean and mountain areas. I love the life I have out here. I woke up, though, missing Idaho, and my visits to Yellowstone National Park. (If you have not been, you really should go at least once)

What a beautiful country!bison

Walking out to go to work this morning, my mind wandered to thoughts of the plains of Wyoming, and watching the wild buffalo, their tremendous bodies causing the earth to tremble as they run across the grasses. Elk venturing in to Jackson; foxes, mouths filled with as many chipmunks as they could carry, bringing dinner for their pups; Giant Grizzly bears sitting fearlessly, twenty feet from traffic as law enforcement tries to hurry onlookers past. These are all chipmunkmemories I have from Idaho and my many visits to Yellowstone, and they really only scratch the surface.

I feel blessed and privileged to have been able to grow up observing nature up close. I have taken part in many junior ranger programs, and thrived as a child when learning about wildlife.

What a beautiful thing it is to have memories!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

6 thoughts on “Ever Changing Home

  1. Dear Carey,

    You have lived in beautiful places!

    This post is so nice. I like the name Wyoming. In Hindi we use Wyom for sky. I have wondered and asked about the etymology of name Wyoming before to other bloggers 🙂

    I wish you a lovely weekend 🙂

    Love and light ❤

    Anand 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Anand! Wyoming is a Native American word meaning “big prairie place” but I wouldn’t be surprised if it’s ancient roots had some ties to the same origin of the Hindi language as Wyoming is “big sky country.” Wyom is very fitting for it. I appreciate the sharing of your knowledge with me. I love learning about language and origin of words!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

