Smoked Salmon Bagel: Brueggers

 

As many of you know, I am a foodie. I don’t love all food, but I have a passion for well made food with flavors that perfectly meld together! It is an art form at its best, and a way to show love. What could be better than that?

Those who know me, know that there are few foods I like more than good bagels. Around the North Carolina, I have had some of my best bagel selections at Brueggers. (Pocatello, Idaho was 5th st bagelry, and Bloomington IN is known for their bagels and I don’t think I have had one measure up since I visited years ago.)

Last week, I tried something different than my usual (Jalapeno cheddar bagel with Jalapeno cream cheese): a smoked salmon begal. They take a plain bagel, schmear it with plain cream cheese, and stack it with a generous amount of oak smoked salmon, red onions, capers, and tomato.

My verdict was mixed. I very much enjoyed the salmon, capers, and tomato, but the plain bagel and plain cream cheese were… well… too plain for my taste. I like daring flavors that meld together and explode in my mouth. With this combination, I seemed to get one flavor: fresh, which was wonderful… but I need more to be impressed.

Today, I returned and decided to do an experiment: Taking the original sandwich, I substituted an Asiago Parmesan bagel, and bacon scallion cream cheese. The rest remained the same. The result? I was not disappointed! melding smokiness of the salmon and the warm taste of bacon, fresh tomato, peppery taste of the Asiago Parmesan, and slight tartness of capers all worked together to produce a happy wonderful bagel sandwich that was as near to perfection as one can hope for on earth! This is definitely going to be a go-to sandwich when I feel like a bagel lunch.

Leave a Reply

