Things I struggle with as an Extremely Extroverted person

eternal optimist

I don’t know how many of you are familiar with the Jung (Myers Briggs) personality testing. This is a great professional grade personality test that fairly accurately shares strengths and weaknesses of different personalities. There are sixteen in all, and each is made of 4 letters, preferences as you would. Each letter gives you a percentage of how much you tend to be pre-set to work out of that preference. I tend to go between ENFP and ENFJ depending on my mood when I take the test (I am a borderline P/J (these are basically how you choose to organize your life) ).

For those who have not taken it, you can take one (not the professional grade, but the best I have seen outside of that) on 16personalities.com. It will take about ten minutes, and you have to be honest with what you DO, NOT how you WISH you would react to life.

I have been studying this specific testing for over six years now. I have an entire bookshelf full of every book I could find on the subject, and I have read through them all, many multiple times. (seriously, I think I should have studies Psychology in college sometimes.)

I am an Extrovert, and not just an extrovert, but an EXTREME extrovert.

enfp-may-have-pinned-this-before-in-true-enfp-style-i-will-not-check-fJxPJc-quote

What do I mean by this, exactly?

Extroversion and Introversion can be quite confusing. Most believe that Extroverts are very open individuals, while introverts tend to keep more to themselves. This is inaccurate at best.

According to the Myers Briggs test, these two defining words have to do with how a person gathers energy. Would you be energized by being around people, feeling more energized by the end of the night at a get together? Chances are, you may an extrovert. Does being around a lot of people tend to drain your energy, causing you to need a “recharge” for your batteries with some alone time? Chances are, you may be more Introverted. Hobbies are not always a tell. Even though I test as 90% extroverted, most of my hobbies are ones that would be typical “introvert” hobbies. This is where I start off with my challenges.

My hobbies are not all Extroverted ones;

In fact, most of them are not. As an extrovert, I love sharing the things I love with the people I love. I am 90% people, 90%! I want to share just about everything. This is not possible with much of my hobbies being things that I must do alone.

I love to paint, bike, write, read, swim, kayak, cook, and camp, and I do almost all forms of arts and crafts. Although some of these are able to be done effectively in a group setting, many of them, I have found most effectively done in private.

I must guard what comes out of my mouth

enfp babble

As I have previously mentioned, I like sharing pretty much everything. This includes my thoughts, which I constantly have to filter through a “should this actually be shared” seive.

Although I don’t tend to have too many inappropriate thoughts, and I don’t like to say unkind things, there is much I find entertaining, and I have learned that: not everyone is passionate about the same things. I could passionately talk about many subjects for a long time, but that doesn’t mean everyone wants to hear about the subject in depth. I have had to learn to not share every joke, every societal problem, every thought that inspires passion within me. Others cannot handle that much of me talking. I need to give them a break from all the chatter.

Even on days I feel like I am low on energy and not doing enough talking while communicating with other humans, they still feel like I am communicating plenty (which makes me wonder, do I still over-communicate on a normal day?! :E

I think this has contributed a bit to the fact that I do like to write. Since I cannot share everything with others through simply talking about EVERYTHING I wish I could talk about, there is a whole web-world out there that I can speak in to. Maybe what I write is seen, and maybe it is not, but I am allowed an outlet through blogging, which I otherwise would not be able to access.

So, thank you blogging world for being a sanctuary for this overly-extroverted person. Thank you for listening to my thoughts and allowing me to not be annoying (most of the time anyway :P) in the real world.

I’m the crazy friend

easily amused

And I’m OK with that. In fact, I’m more than OK with that. I always figured much later in life I would turn in to the crazy old lady with all the fun stories and the dancing and singing and acting childlike even though I will be well along in years. I look forward to every new year, and don’t believe I will ever really be “old” because: are crazy friends/aunts/grandparents really EVER old?! I don’t think so. Age is a number, youth is in action. I will always have full zest for life!!!

7 thoughts on “Things I struggle with as an Extremely Extroverted person

  1. I found this fascinating! I’m an introvert and while I’m perfectly happy with who I am, I always thought life would have been easier if I weren’t — especially when I was in school. I’ve never considered a downside to being an extrovert!
    Also, your description sounds like my best friend in college! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m so glad you enjoyed it! I felt like it ended up a bit longer than I had originally intended (extrovert problems? lol) but I agree with you, I believe there are positives and negatives for both sides of the coin. Maybe it is easier for someone who is a pretty even mix (like my brother, maybe I will have to ask him). 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Then supposedly the main difference between us is how we intake information. You would be a bit more detail oriented than I naturally am. (Which is not too hard to be. I’m not the best with details though I am trying to get better about this.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

